U-19 World Cup: Windies trigger Spirit of Cricket debate
The West Indies under-19 team sparked a debate on Wednesday when South Africa batsman Jiveshen Pillay was given out obstructing the field in their ICC under-19 World Cup match.
Pillay, after defending the ball, turned around to stop it from rolling on to the stumps and picked it up to return it to the wicketkeeper. Emmanuel Stewart, the West Indies skipper and also the team’s gloveman, made a half-hearted appeal. The third umpire adjudged Pillay out for obstructing the field.
Law 37.4 states: Either batsman is out obstructing the field if, at any time while the ball is in play and without the consent of a fielder, he uses his bat or any part of his person, including a hand not holding the bat, to return the ball to any fielder.
Pillay’s dismissal triggered a debate over Spirit of Cricket on the social media. South African captain Faf du Plessis took to Twitter, criticising the decision.
However, Pillay’s controversial dismissal didn’t stop South Africa U-19 from winning the match, as they defeated the West Indies U-19 by 76 runs.